The Deer Pasture—Texas A&M University Press, 1985

Wild to the Heart--Stackpole Books, 1987

Oil Notes—Seymour Lawrence/Houghton Mifflin, 1989

Winter: Notes From Montana—Seymour Lawrence/Houghton Mifflin, 1991

The Ninemile Wolves—Clark City Press, 1992

The Lost Grizzlies: A Search for Survivors in the Wilderness of Colorado—Houghton Mifflin, 1995

The Book of Yaak—Houghton Mifflin, 1996

The New Wolves—Lyons Press, 1998

Brown Dog of the Yaak: Essays on Art and Activism—Milkweed Editions, 1999

Colter: The True Story of the Best Dog I Ever Had—Houghton Mifflin, 2000

Caribou Rising: Defending the Porcupine Herd, Gwich-in Culture, and the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge—Sierra Club Books, 2004

Why I Came West--Houghton Mifflin, 2008

The Wild Marsh: Four Seasons at Home in Montana—Houghton Mifflin, 2009

The Black Rhinos of Namibia—Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2012

The Heart Beneath the Heart—Narrative Press, 2012

In My Home There is No More Sorrow: Ten Days in Rwanda—McSweeneys, 2012


Where the Sea Used to Be—Houghton Mifflin, 1998

The Diezmo—Houghton Mifflin, 2005

Nashville Chrome—Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2010

All the Land That Holds Us—Houghton Mifflin Harcourt August 2013

Short Stories

The Watch—W.W. Norton, 1989

In the Loyal Mountains—Houghton Mifflin, 1995

Fiber—University of Georgia Press, 1998

The Hermit’s Story—Houghton Mifflin, 2002

The Lives of Rocks—Houghton Mifflin, 2006


Platte River—Houghton Mifflin, 1994

The Sky, the Stars, the Wilderness—Houghton Mifflin, 1997

The Blue Horse—Narrative Press, 2009

The Heart of the Monster (with David James Duncan)—All Against the Haul, 2010

Anthologies (Editor)

The Roadless Yaak: Reflections and Observations About One of Our Last Great Wild Places—Lyons Press, 2002

Falling From Grace: A Literary Response to the Demise of Paradise (co-editor, with Paul Christensen)—Wings Press, 2004

Go to top